Breaking: ECB states that Euro is reversible and not irrevocable

Real-World Economics Review Blog

Why all tis attention for Greece and not for Croatia or Slovenia? Because Greece is where the main battle is fought. But on this blog more attention will be paid to other countries. Anyway: a Greek referendum about the euro is a very good idea – but this might be the worst time to hold one. You can do this when you still have a lot of cash somewhere. Or when you’re already in default. But announcing a referendum when you’re on ELA – it’s not a good idea. Surely when the creditors have one overriding goal: they want you out of government. And they play to win. Which means that you have to kill them. Or lose. Inflicting a wound and crippling them (which surely happened) is not enough.

Some links:

A) Breaking (and I can’t stress enough how important this is): the wound is really deep…

View original post 435 more words

4 thoughts on “Breaking: ECB states that Euro is reversible and not irrevocable

  1. Hi Alex,
    Off-topic request here, hope you don’t mind! I’m interested in economics and politics, have been for a while, and have been reading a number of blogs, mainly MMT (including yours, Peter Martin and Bill Mitchell). I’d say I’m very favourable towards MMT, since the concepts are not only logical, but seem more humanitarian than other economic theories, such as full employment rather than NAIRU as a price control. I’ve also been reading Simon Wren-Lewis as well, to get a non-MMT Keynesian view (I think), and used to read UnlearningEconomics when I first started getting interested in the subject.
    The one thing I’ve not managed to do is read much about Neoliberalism, since the few blogs I’ve tried (Scott Sumner and there was another a while ago, but can’t remember the name) I rarely get past a few entries before giving up, possibly due to my MMT bias. I wonder if you know of any blogs from a neoliberal slant that are as easy to follow as Bill’s, so I can educate myself on this school of economics?

    Thanks in advance!

      1. Thanks Alex! I’ve started reading Roger’s blog, and I’m finding it a little easier going than Scott Sumner’s was! I’ve also started a Microeconomics course on Coursera, which may help me with the terminology! (One reason I enjoyed Bill’s blog was it’s aimed at economists and non-economists, so he tends to explain the concepts and terminology better!)

Leave a Reply

